CONCEALED FIREARM PERMITS
By William Desy, CFE
Several States including Utah and Florida will issue a Concealed Firearm Permit to Non-Residents. This is of great benefit to law-abiding citizens that travel to multiple States, due to the fact that these
Permits are valid through Reciprocity or Recognition in many neighboring States. And
because Utah and Florida
are Shall Issue States, you do not need a Reason, nor do you have to prove that you are valuable enough to protect. Your natural instinct for self-preservation and the desire for a viable means to defend yourself from a
criminal attack are understood as the most basic of human rights.
Any law-abiding citizen with
a valid Utah CCW Permit, even a Non-Resident of Utah, may legally carry a Concealed Firearm in the following twenty-three
States; Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi,
Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wyoming.
The Utah Department of Public
Safety-BCI (Bureau of Criminal Identification), oversees the application and issuance of Utah Concealed Firearm Permits. They have done an excellent job of making the application process very simple and
user friendly. Utah
requires that you submit an application and pass a thorough criminal background check.
You must attend an approved training course offered by a Utah Certified Concealed
Firearms Instructor, usually three or more hours in length. Several Utah Certified
Instructors in various States advertise their courses on the Internet. You can
also obtain a listing of all Certified Instructors in your area from the Utah BCI website at http://bci.utah.gov/CFP/CFPHome.html
Along with the one-page application, you submit one recent color [passport quality] photograph (2X2 inches), a photocopy
of your valid Drivers License, one-fingerprint card, and the application must be notarized. The State application fee is only
$59.00 ($35.00 is for application and permit processing, $24.00 goes to the FBI for fingerprint processing) and the permit
is valid for five years. Renewal every five years is only $10.00. The entire application process can be handled through the mail.
And unlike many other States, Utah CCW Permit information is not public record.
cost of a Utah CCW Course can range anywhere from $89.00 to over $250.00, depending on exactly what the Instructor is providing. Some Utah Certified Instructors will provide everything you need from your application,
taking and printing your digital photograph, photocopying your Drivers License, taking your fingerprints, and providing a
pre-addressed envelope for your application. One course recently offered in Southern California provided a Notary Public to notarize applications after the course was concluded.
Another option is to attend a
firearms course, and take your own digital photograph, photocopies, and have your local Police Agency take your fingerprints
for about $10.00. Either way the total cost of obtaining a Utah CCW Permit is
between $150.00 and $200.00 for the initial five-year permit. Thereafter, renewal
is only $10.00 every five-years. Compare this to almost any other State and you
can see why so many people are interested in obtaining the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit.
The average turn-around on Utah CCW applications is approximately 3 to 4 weeks, although Statute does allow up to 60
days to issue a permit or deny your application.
If a Utah Permit sounds easy,
take a look at the Florida CCW application process. The Florida Department of
Agriculture and Consumer Services handle the application and processing of Florida Concealed Weapon Permits. With Florida you either qualify in an exempt category [e.g. Law Enforcement, Military, Prior Firearms Training
or Experience, etc.] or you can attend any National Rifle Association or State Certified Firearms Course that includes weapon
manipulation and live-fire range exercises.
application process is almost identical to Utahs. Complete Floridas one-page application, send in one color photograph,
one Florida fingerprint card [Completed by a Law Enforcement
Agency], and have the application notarized. The processing time can be longer
than Utahs, 60 to 90 days is standard turn-around for Florida
The initial cost of Floridas
CCW Permit is $117.00. Renewals are $107.00 every five-years. A Florida CCW Permit will allow you to carry a concealed weapon in four additional States: Florida, Texas, Ohio, and Pennsylvania. With only Two State-issued Permits, you can now legally
carry a concealed firearm in 27 different States. This is great news for
anyone that travels for business or leisure. And with the continuing efforts
of a strong pro-rights lobby in Utah and Florida,
the value of both permits is likely to increase as additional States agree to Reciprocity or Recognition.
and Florida Permits are recognized in many other States, California
recognizes neither Permit. It is the responsibility of the individual permit-holder
to comply with all other States laws when traveling to States granting Reciprocity or Recognition.
A great source of information
regarding State Firearms and CCW Laws is the Travelers Guide to the Firearms Laws of the Fifty States by J. Scott Kappas, Esq. Available
from www.gunlawguide.com. Another fantastic website that provides a great deal
of useful information regarding Concealed Carry Permits in any of the 50 States is www.packing.org, where you will find a
summary of each States statutes, current reciprocity, access to each States issuing Authority, and links to individual State
websites that can help answer any specific questions you may have.
For more information regarding
California, Utah, or Florida Concealed Weapon Permit Courses
in Southern California, you may contact the author at Info@CCWUSA.com or visit www.CCWUSA.com
*Alaska and Vermont
do not require permits to carry within their states. Several States have pending legislation that may add Recognition of Utah
Permits. (Pending the passage of that legislation.) Utah and Florida CCW Permits are issued for "Personal Protection".
Reciprocity and Recognition of Permits from State to State is a complex issue, we cannot and will not give legal advice.
If you need accurate answers to specific legal questions, contact the State Issuing Authority or consult an Attorney who is
licensed in the State in question. This is not an NRA-Apporved Course.
Certified Firearms Instructor under
the Utah Department of Public Safety, California Department of Justice, California Department of Consumer Affairs - Bureau
of Security and Investigative Services, and the National Rifle Association.